1. Governor-General
  2. Prime Minister
  3. Deputy Prime Minister
    Leader of the Opposition
  4. Members of the Cabinet
    President of the Senate
    Speaker of the House of Representatives (Honourable)
  5. Former Governors-General andFormer Prime Ministers
  6. The Chief Justice
    President of the Court of Appeal
  7. Ministers of State
  8. President of Jamaica Council of Churches
  9. Widows/Widowers of National Heroes
    Widows/Widowers of Former Governors-Generals
    Widows /Widowers of Former Heads of Government
  10. The Attorney-General
  11. The Cabinet Secretary (Head of the Civil Service)
  12. The Head of the Foreign Service
    The Dean of the Diplomatic Corps
    High Commissioners & Ambassadors
    Head of Delegation of the European Union
    Secretary-General of the International Seabed Authority
  13. Members of the Privy Council
  14. Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives
  15. Members of the Senate
    Members of the House of Representatives
  16. Judges of the Court of Appeal
    Judges of the Supreme Court

17. Chairman of the Public Service Commission

Financial Secretary

Permanent Secretaries

Solicitor General

Governor of Bank of Jamaica

Auditor General

Director of Public Prosecutions

18. Chief of Defence Staff, Jamaica Defence Force Commissioner of Police

19. Mayors and Chairmen of Parish Councils (except on municipal occasions, when they take precedence            immediately after the Prime Minister)

20. Custodes of parishes except on formal occasions (other than municipal occasions) in their own parishes when they take precedence as representatives of The Governor General

21. Chief of State Protocol

Resident Representative/Resident Coordinator of the United Nations Development Programme

Heads of Offices of International Organisations


Members of the Consular Corps

22. Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies

President of the University of Technology

23. Chairmen of political parties having representation in Parliament

General Secretaries of political parties having representation in Parliament

24. Holders of Jamaican National Honour

Order of Merit

Order of Jamaica