National Symbols & Emblems

The Chancery and Protocol Division is appointed to give permission for the use of the six national symbols and emblems.

Section 12(1) of the Jamaica Trademarks Act of 1999, states that a trademark containing the Coat of Arms of Jamaica, National Flag and other National Symbols are not registrable as trademarks. The Act also states that the Flags, Armorial Bearings or other State Emblems of other Convention countries are not registrable unless that country authorises such use.

Where persons submit trademark applications to the Jamaica Intellectual Property Office (JIPO) in which National Emblems/Symbols are used, the application is not accepted unless there is authorisation for use granted by the Office of the Prime Minister, in the case of Jamaica. Where there is no authorisation, the applicant would be directed to request permission from the OPM, to use the National Emblem/Symbol. The OPM in its discretion may object or grant approval to the representation being used as part of the artwork in the proposed trademark.

Factors which could be considered for the granting of permission of use could be whether the intended use is for educational or non-educational use, whether the product will be commercially free or freely distributed. Consideration can also be given on whether a fee will be charged, depending on the proposed use.

Colours of the National Flag of Jamaica (Official)

  • Emerald T817 British Admiralty Bunting Pattern
  • Gold
  • Black



  • Pantone 109U
  • 16 parts PANTONE Yellow 98.5
  • ¼ part PANTONE Warm Red 1.5


  • Pantone 355U
  • 13 parts PANTONE Green 80.0
  • 3 parts PANTONE Yellow 18.5
  • ¼ part PANTONE Black 1.5


  • 100 percent